Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
Gertha Sykes Collins Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.487
Scope and Contents
Primarily this is a collection of love letters written between 1942-1944 to Gertha Barbara Jean Sykes residing in St. Louis, Missouri and James NMI Dansby, an African-American soldier in the United States Army. There are also letters from two other Army soldiers, Jack Smith, stationed in the Pacific and Benjamin D. Collins, an aircompany soldier, whom Sykes married in 1949. The letters begin when Dansby joined the Army and started basic training in Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg,...
Dates:
1942-1951
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Racial and Ethnic Ephemera Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss 1.05
Scope and Contents
The racial and ethnic ephemera collection contains various materials regarding race, ethnicity, and racism in the United States. The collection includes papers and items that promote racial prejudice and propaganda. The collection also contains items and papers that exemplify the fight for civil and equal rights. African Americans are the most broadly represented group in the collection. Other ethnic groups include Native Americans, Asian Americans, Jewish Americans, Muslim Americans, and...
Dates:
1778-2005
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Sheet Music Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.07
Scope and Contents
The Sheet Music Collection includes sheet music collected by the Special Collections Research Center.
Dates:
1827-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center